News from Canada

The College of Family Physicians of Canada is pleased to announce the 2013–2014 Executive Committee .

2013–2014 Executive Committee Members:

President Dr Kathy Lawrence, Regina, SK
Past-President Dr Marie-Dominique Beaulieu, Montreal, QC
President‐Elect/Chair of the Board Dr Garey Mazowita, Vancouver, BC
Honorary Secretary-Treasurer Dr Jennifer Hall, Rothesay, NB
Member-at-Large (3-year term) Dr Claudette Chase, Thunder Bay, ON
Member‐at‐Large (1-year term) Dr David White, Toronto, ON
Executive Director & CEO (non-voting) Dr Francine Lemire, Mississauga, ON
College of Family Physicians of Canada

Kathy Lawrence, MD, CCFP, FCFP: 2013–2014 President

Dr Kathy Lawrence completed her medical degree and family medicine residency at the University of Saskatchewan. She received certification in family medicine from the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) in 1996 and eleven years later, she became a CFPC fellow.

For the past 17 years, Dr Lawrence has been providing primary and in-hospital care, as well as intrapartum obstetric care in the Family Medicine Unit at the Regina Centre Crossing. With a focus on women’s health, Dr Lawrence is Co-Chair of the region’s family medicine obstetrical peer review at Regina’s Qu’Appelle Health Region. She also served as the region’s Women’s Health Centre Director from 1999 to 2002.

Working with local physicians, academics, and the University of Saskatchewan’s College of Medicine,
Dr Lawrence has participated in the expansion and development of six residency training sites and in the implementation of Triple C Competency-based curriculum training throughout the province. Currently, she is working on opening two more training sites in the province.

Dr Lawrence has remained actively involved with the National College and its committees. From 1994 to 1996, she served as University of Saskatchewan’s representative to the Section of Residents. She became a member of the CFPC’s National Executive Committee in 2010 and completed terms as Honorary Secretary-Treasurer, President-Elect, and Chair of the Board. She currently serves as Chair of the Examinations in Family Medicine Committee and represents the College on the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons’ CanMeds 2015 project.

In 1996, Dr Lawrence received the Dr G. Ernest McBrien Postgraduate Award in Family Medicine. In 2012, she received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her contributions to family medicine in the province of Saskatchewan and Canada.

(disponible en français)