Montegut Scholar Award

The Montegut Global Scholars Program (MGSP) was established by the American Board of Family Medicine Foundation (ABFM-F) in 2010. The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is a member of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). The ABFM-F is a supporting organisation of the ABFM. Its primary mission is to support the ABFM’s research and scholarly activities.

Alain Montegut MD

The Montegut Global Scholars Program (MGSP) was established by the ABFM-F in April 2010. It was named in honor of Alain Montegut, M.D., a member of the Board of Directors of the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) from 2005-2010 and whose career has been devoted to developing high quality family medicine practice internationally, especially in underserved and/or undeveloped countries.

A program for WONCA regional meeting attendance.

The MGSP was established to foster international education, research, and collaboration in the specialty of family medicine. It will support the attendance of family physicians from Africa, Asia Pacific, East Mediterranean, Europe Iberoamericana, North America, and South Asia Regions of the international organization of family physicians (WONCA) to any WONCA regional conference of 2022.
For further information on the MGSP click here.

Application Process

Interested candidates must fill out the MGSP Application and send it to their respective WONCA Region.

The application deadline is Friday 19 May 2023 at 17:00 UTC. No applications will be accepted after the deadline. 

Applications will be reviewed by the MGSP Regional Committees and the selected regional candidates will be shared with ABFM for final approval of the Scholarship winners.

WONCA Regions’ Contacts

WONCA Africa  -
WONCA Asia Pacific -
WONCA East Mediterranean -
WONCA Europe - Applications Closed
WONCA Iberoamericana-CIMF - - Regional Executive has chosen to allocate funds to participate in their regional conference.
WONCA North America -
WONCA South Asia -

2022 Winners

Africa Region
Mercy Nafula Wanjala - Kenya  
Tijani Oseni - Nigeria
Asia Pacific Region
Michael Angelo J. Arteza - Philippines 

East Mediterranean Region  
Tasneem Yahya - Palestine
Rim Taleb - Lebanon

Europe Region
Dr.Gazmend Bojaj - Kosovo

North America Region

Andrea Maria Purai - Jamaica

South Asia Region
Kiran Abdul Sattar - Pakistan
Sadia Mohammad Azam Khan - Pakistan

Carmen Nadal Agost - Chile 

 WONCA wishes to formally acknowledge the generous sponsorship of the American Board of Family Medicine Foundation (ABFM-F) through the Montegut Global Scholars Program. 

Winners of Montegut Previous Editions
Return to awards homepage