The Caribbean College of Family Physicians launch the Tobago chapter on Family Doctor Day.

Photo: GP leaders from Tobago: Tiffany Hoyte, Maxwell Adeyemi, Rohan Maharaj, Stephanie Tam–Fraser, Fidelis Okali

The TOBAGO Chapter of the Caribbean College of Family Physicians (CCFP) is the newest Chapter to be formed within the Caribbean College of Family Physicians (CCFP) and its launch was timed to coincide with World Family Doctor Day- May 19, 2014.

The function was carded for the Mount Irvine Hotel, Tobago and attended by dignitaries from the Tobago House of Assembly, the Tobago Regional Health Authority and the University of the West Indies. Greetings have been sent from WONCA through the President of the Region North America, Professor Ruth Wilson from Canada; from the CCFP Regional President, Dr Andy Shillingford, practising in the Cayman Islands; from the Executive Director and Chairperson Committee on Membership within CCFP, Dr Sonia Roache; all being unable to attend the installation. Welcoming messages come also from the other Chapters within CCFP and from members of CCFP in Trinidad.

Twenty -one doctors practising as general practitioners in private practice and primary care doctors assigned to Health Centres in Tobago were installed as Charter Members by Dr Rohan Maharaj, BSc, MBBS, MHSc, DM, FCCFP. He is a Senior Lecturer and the Head of the Department in Primary Care; Coordinator of the Postgraduate Programme in Family Medicine at UWI-St. Augustine, Eric Williams Medical Sciences Faculty at Mt. Hope; Coordinator of the CCFP Caribbean Primary Care Research Group (CAPRCG), Director representing Trinidad & Tobago on the Board of Directors of CCFP.
Most of these doctors have completed postgraduate family medicine training at UWI and so qualify to be treated as “Family Medicine Specialists”.

The list of twenty one founder members follows:
Maxwell Taiwo Adeyemi - Chair
Cornelius Agbeko
Onochie Aghaegbuna
Diandra Clinker
Vivian Fernandes
Kale Fergusson
Fidel Gonzales
Barbara Guevara
Tiffany Hoyte - Secretary
Sandeep Kumar
Roxanne Mitchell - Asst. Secretary
Samuel Nwokolo
Steve Ogbu
Fidelis Okali - Treasurer
Chidi Okereke
Onyeaka Okpalla
Yasmin Rodriguez
Kathleen Sangster-Singh
Stephanie Tam-Fraser - Deputy Chair
Sonia Telfer
Randy Thomas