New WHO leadership team announced

WHO statement 3 October 2017

WHO Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus has announced his senior leadership team.

The new team includes former ministers of health, some of the world’s leading physicians, scientists and researchers, and programmatic experts in universal health coverage, health emergencies, communicable and non-communicable diseases, climate and environmental health, and women’s, adolescents’ and children’s health. Individually and collectively, they have a wealth of experience across government, private sector, multilateral, civil society and academic organizations.

“The team represents 14 countries, including all WHO regions, and is more than 60% women, reflecting my deep-held belief that we need top talent, gender equity and a geographically diverse set of perspectives to fulfil our mission to keep the world safe,” said Dr Tedros.

Deputy Directors-General
Dr Soumya Swaminathan will be Deputy Director-General for Programmes (DDP) and Jane Ellison will be Deputy Director-General for Corporate Operations (DDC). In addition, Dr Peter Salama will remain in his role as the Executive Director of the Health Emergencies Programme.

The Assistant Director-General appointees are:
• Dr Bernhard Schwartländer, Chef de Cabinet
• Dr Naoko Yamamoto, Assistant Director-General for Universal Health Coverage and Health Systems Cluster
• Professor Lubna A. Al-Ansary, Assistant Director-General for Metrics and Measurement
• Dr Svetlana Akselrod, Assistant Director-General for Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health
• Ambassador Michèle Boccoz, Assistant Director-General for External Relations
• Dr Ranieri Guerra, Assistant Director-General for Special Initiatives
• Dr Ren Minghui, Assistant Director-General for Communicable Diseases
• Dr Mariângela Batista Galvão Simão, Assistant Director-General for Drug Access, Vaccines and Pharmaceuticals
• Dr Princess Nothemba (Nono) Simelela, Assistant Director-General for Family, Women, Children and Adolescents
• Mr Stewart Simonson, Assistant Director-General for General Management
• Dr Joy St John, Assistant Director-General for Climate and Other Determinants of Health

All of these appointees will be transitioning into their new roles over the next several weeks.
Additional details are available here