Annual report of the WONCA International Classification Committee

The current Chair of WICC is Thomas Kuehlein (Germany)
The deputy Chair is Kees van Boven (Netherlands)

The executive committee consists of: Thomas Kuehlein (Germany), Kees van Boven (Netherlands), Jean-Karl Soler (Malta), Olawunmi Olagundoye (Nigeria), Laurent Letrillart (France).

The governance committee consists of Diego Schrans (Belgium), Preben Larsen (Denmark), Julie Gordon (Australia)

Achievements over the last biennium (between World Councils)

The Consortium, under the lead of Kees van Boven and Huib ten Napel, made further progress in the development ICPC-3 via ( ). ICPC-3 development started in January 2018 and runs for a period of three and half years. Currently all milestones have been achieved.
The annual WICC-meeting in 2018 was held from 22nd to 26th September in Hersonissos/ Crete/Greece. There were 23 members participating. This year there were no observers. The main topic was the development of ICPC-3 under organizational leadership of a Consortium led by Kees van Boven at the University of Nijmegen/Netherlands. Another important topic was the development of a primary care version (linearization) of ICD-11 in collaboration with WHO.

A new website is now available showing the work of WICC at . This web-site was developed and maintained under the leadership of Heinz Bhend (Switzerland).

The next WICC meeting was planned to be held 21st – 23rd June 2020 in Berlin, before the WONCA Europe Conference, but that has had to be postponed. The Consortium hopes to be able to discuss and clarify the final issues and challenges so that ICPC-3 can be launched at the WONCA World Conference in Abu- Dhabi. Vivid discussions are to be expected. Anybody interested in the work of WICC will be welcomed.

WICC was represented at many WONCA Region Conferences presenting posters or holding workshops on classification topics like ICPC and the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF).

The future

WICC will be putting all of its energy into the development of ICPC-3.

Chair: Prof Thomas Kühlein