XIII Conference on Patient Safety in Primary Care

On June 16 and 17, 2021, the XIII Conference on Patient Safety in Primary Care was held in virtual format for the first time. Virtuality has been a challenge for everyone, especially for the members of the organising and scientific committees, the technical and technological secretariat, the Ministry of Health and the organising scientific societies: the Spanish Society for Healthcare Quality (SECA), the Spanish Society of Family and Community Medicine (semFYC), the Federation of Community Nursing and Primary Care Associations (FAECAP), and the Spanish Society of Primary Care Pharmacists (SEFAP). We thank all of them and everyone involved in the face-to-face workshops that unfortunately could not take place in 2020 The opening recording is available here.

The Conference main objective was to encourage debate, exchange experiences related to Patient Safety in Primary Care, and promote a culture based on quality and safety.

2021 reached a new record of communication submissions, with 152 communications received and 143 accepted. The presentation of real-life experiences related to Patient Safety improvement was the most common communication, followed by patient safety incidents taught to professionals. Topics such as “Safe use of medication” and “training, safety culture and organisational management” were the most recurring themes.

During the first day, María Fernández from SEMFYC and Angel Mataix from SEFAP moderated the sessions, with speakers like Montserrat Gens, who reminded us of the importance of Risk Management and a Culture of Safety, also during COVID19 Pandemic, with experiences based on the Health Area of Camp de Tarragona; Juan José Jurado, a nurse at Fuenlabrada Health Center in Madrid,  who highlighted the relevance of available evidence on Primary Care nursing; and José Saura Llamas, who focused on the triangle of clinical error on teaching. This session recording is available in Spanish here

The second panel was moderated by Inmaculada Mediavilla from the Spanish Society for Healthcare Quality (SECA) and Esther Nieto from the Federation of Community Nursing and Primary Care Associations (FAECAP). This session focused on “what not to do”, where María José Pérez Boillos shared key tools to implement a “Do Not do” strategy; Marta Sastre Paz presented collaborative documents in Community Care; and José Joaquín Mira Solves shared concrete data on the consequences of ignoring the “Do Not do” recommendations in Family Medicine and Pediatrics. Watch this session here.

This year, sixteen submissions were selected by the scientific committee as candidates for the “Fernando Palacio Award for improving patient safety in primary care”. These submission were presented on two different panels moderated by Pastora Pérez Pérez, Asunción Cañada Dorado, Aina Perelló Bratescu and Lourdes Louzon Oliver. Watch this sessions recordings here. Sesion 1. Session 2.

The Fernando Palacio Award for improving patient safety in primary care were:

- Audience’s Special Mention: "Creating free restraint spaces", by Ángeles Domínguez Domingo, from Extremadura.
- Best Brief Oral communication as a “Case taught by professionals in training”: "A mistake in their recipe", by María Escorihuela Gimeno from Aragón.
- Best Brief Oral communication: “What risks does home health care hide? An immersion in its origins, effects and possible solutions ”, by María Dolores Conejos Miquel from Madrid. 
- Best Long Oral communication: "Electronic prescription system for residential centers: a barrier against medication errors", by Cecilia Calvo Pita de Navarra.

The book with the 96 communications presented is also available for free download in printable pdf format, with an interactive index.

We thank to all the speakers and communicators for their high level contributions. We also thank to the conference attendees and those who followed or share it on Twitter with the hashtag #SegPacAP. 

See you in 2022.


Dr María Pilar Astier Peña, Chair of the Working Party on Quality & Safety
Dr José Miguel Bueno Ortiz, Secretary of the Working Party on Quality & Safety