Discover the 2022 WONCA Five Star Doctors

About the WONCA five-star doctors

WONCA’s award of Excellence in Health Care is called the Five Star Doctor Award. It can be awarded annually by each region, with all regional winners going forward for consideration for the Global Five Star Doctor award, made each biennium, with the winner receiving his or her award at the WONCA World Conference.

The concept of the Five Star Doctor was first described by Dr Charles Boelen, then of WHO, in 2000, and is judged on the following five criteria:

  • a CARE PROVIDER, who considers the patient holistically as an individual and as an integral part of a family and the community, and provides high- quality, comprehensive, continuous, and personalized care within a long- term, trusting relationship.
  • a DECISION MAKER, who makes scientifically sound judgments about investigations, treatments and use of technologies that take into account the person’s wishes, ethical values, cost- effective considerations, and the best possible care for the patient.
  • a COMMUNICATOR, who is able to promote healthy lifestyles by effective explanation and advocacy, thereby empowering individuals and groups to enhance and protect their health.
  • a COMMUNITY LEADER, who, having won the trust of the people among whom he or she works, can reconcile individual and community health requirements, advise citizen groups, and initiate action on behalf of the community.
  • a MANAGER, who can work harmoniously with individuals and organizations both within and outside the health system to meet the needs of individual patients and communities, making appropriate use of available health data.

WONCA Five-Star Doctors 2022

We are now thrilled to announce the WONCA Five-Star Doctors 2022!

  • WONCA Africa Region - Dr Modupe Martha-Alice Ladipo (Nigeria)
  • WONCA Asia Pacific Region – Prof Meng-Chih Lee (Taiwan)
  • WONCA East Mediterranean Region – Dr Mohammed Tarawneh (Jordan)
  • WONCA Europe Region – Dr Philippe Binder (France)
  • WONCA Iberoamericana – CIMF – Dr Julio Ceitlin (Argentina)
  • WONCA South Asia - Kanapathipillai Sriranjan (Sri Lanka)
Congratulations to this year's regional winners!